Table of Contents
QB Auto Update
For the last several years, Quickbooks regularly has problems turning off automatic upgrades. With single user systems installed on a workstation, this is not a problem. However, in a network environment (where each client must be upgraded at the same time), or on a Windows Terminal Server where the user may not have permission to restart the server, it is better for IT to perform this manually, on a schedule (monthly seems to be appropriate). A discussion from several years ago is located on the Intuit discussion site
If your QB install is in automatic update mode, and you can not turn it off (Help | Update Quickbooks Desktop), you can do this manually.
- Close all copies of Intuit Quickbooks
- go to C:\ProgramData\Intuit\NameOfQBInstall\Components\QBUpdate
- NOTE: ProgramData (no space) does not show up in normal listings, so you must manually enter the path
- NameOfQBInstall depends on the version of Quickbooks installed. An example would be QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions 24.0. Recommend you go into c:\ProgramData\Intuit and see what is there.
- Find the file qbchan.dat
- Open with Notepad (right click, Open With)
- About line 4, there is the entry
BackgroundEnabled=1
- Change the 1 to 0
- Save the file
- Open Quickbooks
- Help | Update Quickbooks Desktop
- Verify Automatic Updates is off
Update 2026-11-13
When performing this task on QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions 24.0, the Qbchan.dat file had multiple entries for background enabled. I changed them all to 0's (definitely after making a copy of the file) and will see what happens.
There are also reports that the service QBUpdateMonitorService needs to be disabled, which I did. Again, this is still being tested.
- Open Services (services.msc)
- Find QBUpdateMonitorService
- Right click and select Properties
- Stop the service
- Set Startup to Disabled
- Save your work
Other Solutions
For another solution, visit https://bigredconsulting.com/forced-quickbooks-patches/. In there, he disables the Quickbooks Download Folder. I'd assume you would disable it for anyone but a Systems Administrator. This solution has not been verified
